Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Mackenzie tutors in West Lafayette, IN

Mackenzie C.

Private tutor in West Lafayette, IN

Education

Current 3rd-year undergraduate student at Purdue University studying Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences with minors in Linguistics and Psychology. Dean's List Recipient all semesters of college. Presidential Scholar. Major GPA: 3.86.

Experience

I briefly served as a volunteer reading/writing tutor for children in kindergarten-3rd grade and am looking to resume my love for this by working with people of all ages! My greatest passion is cultivating English literacy through goal-oriented, creative, and flexible lessons. I offer English, Literature, Reading Comprehension, Writing, and Editing services up to 4th year undergraduate level, and ESL grammar/writing tutoring for all ages. I would also be happy to impart study, test taking, academic success, and organizational skills. My eventual career goal is to become a practicing Speech-Language Pathologist. | Qualifications | - Relevant college-level courses encompass Phonetics, Linguistics, Language Development, Communication Sciences and Disorders, and 4 levels of American Sign Language. Achieved A's or A+'s in all courses. - Received the highest scores possible in AP English Language and Composition and International Baccalaureate (IB) Language and Literature Higher-Level exams. Equivalent to First-Year Composition and Introduction to Literature courses at Purdue. - IB Higher-Level English Student of the Year Award, May 2016 - Editorial Board Member, Purdue Journal of Undergraduate Research (Aug 2018-Present) - Assisted in the facilitation of weekly creative writing workshops for at-risk youth in kindergarten-grade 6, Bauer Community Center (Fall 2017) - Undergraduate Research Assistant, Language Learning and Meaning Acquisition Lab, Purdue University (Jan 2018-Present) - 2 years cumulative work experience in customer service. | In-Person Tutoring | $15/hour. The first tutoring session will last no longer than 1 hour. We will discuss your personal goals and the best methods to achieve them. I prefer to meet in public spaces in the West Lafayette/Lafayette area, although I can make a few exceptions! Payment via cash, Venmo, or PayPal is preferred.

Availability

Tues/Thurs after 6PM, Monday after 6PM, Wednesday after 4PM, Friday after 4PM, Weekends in the morning, Weekends in the afternoon

Can Meet

Up to 20 minutes away for no additional charge

Hobbies

Reading, writing fictional prose and poetry, ukulele (a definite work-in-progress!), visual design, sketching and painting, traveling, learning about new cultures, childcare, volunteering. . . and the list goes on!

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!